Reading Harry Potter for the First Time

I have never read Harry Potter. You may now kick me out of the book-lover club. I know, I know, it’s bad, but I don’t have a sappy “Harry Potter changed my childhood” story. Honestly, I was never a fantasy fan growing up. I preferred to read books about girls like me. I still am just dipping my toes into the fantasy pool, and it’s terrifying and confusing, but also fun.

So, this summer, I have decided to bite the bullet and finally read Harry Potter. What prompted this, you ask? Well, the fact that I still haven’t read the most popular children’s series was always nagging at the back of my head. I knew it would happen eventually, but today I watched this video by one of my favorite BookTubers, Zoe Herdt, or ReadByZoe. She announced that she’s hosting a Harry Potter read-a-thon! This is the push I needed. I’m going to do it!

Going into this, I am not sure what to expect. Harry Potter has changed so many lives, but those people read it as children. Will the magic be gone for us older people? I hope not, but I have seen multiple critical reviews by people who read it later in life. But hell, I am still dangerously susceptible to magic. I will do an update/series review at the end of the summer, when I finish the series.

Let me know what you think of the Harry Potter series! Have you read it a million times, or have you never even thought about touching it? Also, let me know if you are going to be participating in this read-a-thon, and we can buddy up and encourage each other!

3 thoughts on “Reading Harry Potter for the First Time

Leave a Reply

